Dental Fit

Photo by Shiny Diamond on Pexels.com

Today’s post might seem off topic but since I enjoy spreading knowledge about overall fitness and health this topic is right on track.

Many don’t realize how important dental health truly is, and until I was an adult I would roll my eyes at my mother’s constant reminding to brush my teeth.

Who cares if I get a cavity? Who cares if my gums bleed a little? Who cares if there is a little tartar on there?

Your body cares! Not just your mouth but your overall body cares. Today I want to focus on gingivitis because I never understood what it was and how it can affect your whole body health. I was able to meet up with Angela Lee from Pine Street Dental.

She explained that when you don’t brush regularly you can get tartar build up which can lead to gingivitis which is inflammation in the gums.

Take a second to think about that – inflammation. I have bad plantar fasciitis which is inflammation in my plantar fascia and I go to great lengths to try to heal that. Why should inflammation in a mouth be any different? Our gums are not meant to be inflamed, it is clearly an indication that something is not right, not healthy, not fit.

Angela described this by saying “Imagine the size of your hand. That is the size of the infection in your mouth. Left untreated that infection could get into your bloodstream. It could cause bone loss which leads to tooth loss. “

It’s not just bleeding gums, it is an indication that if you don’t take action now it can lead to problems down the road. Another important piece to note is that since this is an infection if you were to need surgery your body is already not in a healthy state. This could mean that a surgery needs to be delayed or it could lead to complications.

Angela suggested that a healthy individual get their teeth cleaned at least every 9 months (though every person is a little different). If you have gingivitis it is recommended you go every 3-4 months to help heal. Once you are healed and the gingivitis is gone you can resume the regular 9 month routine.

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels.com

The bottom line is that with a little care you can avoid this problem and keep your mouth and your body healthy. And really we all want to be ‘fit for life’.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started